General Post

A Recap of Books Past

Hello, and welcome to my first official post on Allison’s Adventures into Wonderlands!

I thought I’d start off my blog by recapping what I’ve read so far in 2016, since it’s already fall (my absolute favorite time of year)!

I was admittedly out of reading for a little while in 2015 as I was adjusting to many changes in my life: a new relationship, applying to graduate school, leaving my job of almost two years, moving out of my parents’ house, moving to a new state, all leading up to an exciting new chapter in my life of starting graduate school in June 2015. It wasn’t until last fall that I really started reading again. As such, I have also included the trilogy that really helped my current obsession-fueled reading kick that I’ve been on for the last year.

Notably, this year also marked my foray into the digital book world, since I’ve maybe read one or two eBooks before in my life, instead of my usually-preferred print versions. I discovered a wonderful library app – OverDrive – that allowed me to borrow digital books (let’s be real, I’m a poor college kid who doesn’t want to actually pay for books) as well as audiobooks, which has greatly increased the number of books I can enjoy!

Before I commence the list, I would like to mention two additional points:

  1. Full disclosure: I haven’t been that great at completing reviews this year – especially with the longer series I’ve read (or listened to, as the case may be) – but I have included links to the reviews that I do have completed on my Goodreads page.
  2. If you are interested, I have noted which of the following books read over the past year were audiobooks.

I am really excited to bring you this list so I can have a tabula rasa moving forward!

Cheers!

Allison

End of 2015

  • A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy, #1) by Deborah Harkness
  • Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy, #2) by Deborah Harkness
  • The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy, #3) by Deborah Harkness

January 2016

  • Witch: Rise of the Nine by Amber Brandt (here’s the review)
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik

February 2016

  • Outlander (Outlander, #1) by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Martian by Andy Weir (here’s the review)

March 2016

  • Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, #2) by Diana Gabaldon (here’s the review)
  • First Light (Forever After, #1) by Michele Paige Holmes (here’s the review)
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter, #1) by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2) by J. K. Rowling

April 2016

  • Voyager (Outlander, #3) by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1) by Lemony Snicket
  • My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem
  • The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #2) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #3) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Captive (Griffin Force, #1) by Julie Coulter Bellon (here’s the review)
  • The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #4) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #5) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Ersatz Elevator (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #6) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #7) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #8) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Carnivorous Carnival (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #9) by Lemony Snicket

May 2016

  • The Slippery Slope (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #10) by Lemony Snicket
  • The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #11) by Lemony Snicket
  • Eleanor by Jason Gurley (here’s the review)
  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell (here’s the review)
  • Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1) by Margaret Atwood

June 2016

  • The Penultimate Peril (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #12) by Lemony Snicket
  • The End (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #13) by Lemony Snicket

July 2016

  • The Girls by Emma Cline
  • There Once Were Stars by Melanie McFarlane (here’s the review)
  • Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle, #1) by Christopher Paolini
  • Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg (here’s the review)
  • Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1) by Sylvain Neuvel (here’s the review)
  • Dark Matter by Blake Crouch (here’s the review)

August 2016

  • Eldest (The Inheritance Cycle, #2) by Christopher Paolini
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8) by J. K. Rowling
  • All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood (here’s the review)
  • The Cygnus Virus by T. J. Zakreski (here’s the review)
  • The Woman on the Orient Express by Lindsay Jayne Ashford (here’s the review)
  • Brisingr (The Inheritance Cycle, #3) by Christopher Paolini

September 2016

  • All the Good Parts by Loretta Nyhan (here’s the review)
Leave a Reply

