Book Review

Tom Merritt’s PILOT X

merrit-tom-pilot-x-coverTitle: Pilot X
Author: Tom Merritt
Format: eBook, courtesy of NetGalley and Inkshares
Start Date: January 26, 2017
End Date: February 9, 2017
Rating: 3 stars

Physics abhors a paradox. It took a lot more energy than a little anger to rip causality from its rails and change the course of a whole reality.

Tom Merritt’s Pilot X told the story of a pilot, named X, who was tasked with ending a time war that was devastating the universe – a war between his own people, the Alendeans, and their enemies, the Progons and Sensurians. He alone held the power to stop the war and bring peace to the galaxy. But at what cost?

If you’re interested, you can watch Tom Merritt’s book trailer for Pilot X.

I thought the premise of the story was interesting. I love a good story about space travel and otherworldly adventures. Not only that, but the cover was attractive (let’s be real, I love a good cover!). Because of this, I was excited to dive right in.

However, the story just didn’t thrill me. It seemed to be missing some crucial piece that made me unable to connect. I did not feel any particular attachment to Pilot X or to Verity in particular. I did not like Pilot X’s character; he seemed a little pretentious. Although he was often making jokes, some of them failed to make me see the humor. Don’t get me wrong, there were some particularly funny parts (essentially any witty banter exchange between Pilot X and Verity made for a good time), but overall I did not really get Pilot X’s humor.

I was also disappointed in the world-building. I felt that the author missed a huge opportunity. He introduced several interesting planets and races – for example, both the Progons, “a race of pure electricity that houses themselves in great machines,” and the Sensurians, “a unified megaorganism that can split up into smaller bits down to single cells” seemed rather interesting – but I feel like they were treated more as an afterthought rather than as a whole, sentient race. This ultimately made them seem not all that thrilling. Instead, we see Pilot X attempting to make peace with each of these races individually – where one tries to poison him and the other tries to drive him mad – but ultimately, these races were not that thrilling.

Overall, this book had a feeling of being unfinished. Because it was so short (only 179 pages), I felt like the author missed an opportunity to really focus on character-building and world-building, something for which I would have gladly read more pages.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad book. Unfortunately, at least for me, I don’t think it lived up to its potential.

Thank you to Netgalley and Inkshares for a free copy of this eBook in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

