General Post

Hello, June 2017!

100_0883.JPG
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, 2009. By Allison Krajewski.

I love the warm weather – it is really starting to feel like summer! And even though I have to teach a summer class, I feel like I can breathe a sigh of relief now that the school year is over. Time to go to the beach, have some BBQ, and enjoy time with friends and family! And, of course, have more time for reading!

I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus lately. I only read three books in April and six in May (three of which I still have to post reviews for…oops). But I’ve been getting back into the swing, and hopefully, I will get back to keeping this blog updated more regularly.

In May, I also started a #bookstagram. It’s still a work-in-progress – seeing as I don’t have a theme or too many followers – but I’ve been having fun taking pictures of books! If you’re interested, check it out @allisonsadventuresinwonderland.

Also, if you’re interested, you can check out my past recaps for 2017 below:

Seeing as I never got around to doing a recap for April, that will be included in this post as well.

Thanks for sticking with me so far! Now we can get to the good stuff…

Recap: April 2017

April2017-collage.jpg
Books Read: April 2017.

April was a hectic month for me, what with a qualifying exam and just wrapping up the semester in general. Because of this, I was only able to get through three books – two audiobooks (both Neil Gaiman) and one ebook (Beartown) – for a grand total of 1,196 pages (technically, 26 hours and 8 minutes of audio and 432 pages).

  • American Gods, by Neil Gaiman | REVIEW
  • Norse Mythology, by Neil Gaiman | (no review)
  • Beartown, by Fredrik Backman | REVIEW

My book haul for the month was decent, however. I added eleven (!) physical books to my ever-growing library (mostly from library sales) and several digital books as well (both from NetGalley and purchased through Amazon).

Overall, not a bad month. I was able to reread my favorite book, American Gods, and start watching the series on STARZ!

Recap: May 2017

May2017-collage
Books Read: May 2017.

May almost felt like a catch-up month for me in terms of reading. I was able to read six books – four audiobooks and two paper books – for a grand total of 2,921 pages (technically, 86 hours and 30 minutes of audio and 630 pages).

  • The Shadow Land, by Elizabeth Kostova | REVIEW
  • Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte | REVIEW
  • Since We Fell, Dennis Lehane | (to be reviewed)
  • Mr. Rochester, Sarah Shoemaker | REVIEW
  • The Radium Girls, Kate Moore | (to be reviewed)
  • Chemistry, by Weike Wang | (to be reviewed)

My book haul for the month included ten physical books (from my Book of the Month subscription, library sales, and ARCs from both LibraryThing and NetGalley). I won’t admit how many digital books I also added to my TBR list (eight…).

Currently Reading

I am also currently reading two books that didn’t make the cut into May’s recap, but will be seen next month!

I am FINALLY reading Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. It’s really good so far, if a little frightening. Claire Danes is the narrator of the audiobook, and I think she does an amazing job adding just the right amount of detachment to the situation. This world that Atwood describes is chilling, and even though it was written back in 1985 I feel that it is still applicable to today. I am interested in watching the show on Hulu to see how they brought Atwood’s dystopian world to life.

I was also fortunate enough to receive an ARC from Elevate Fiction (through NetGalley) of Birthrights (Book One of the Revisions to the Truth Series) by J. Kyle McNeal (see below!). I’m already 100 pages in, and I’m liking it so far. There are so many names – of characters and places – to keep straight, but the story itself is intriguing!

I’m interested to see where the author is going to take this story and to see how he extends the series!

TBR: June 2017


McNeal, J. Kyle - Birthrights - COVER
Title:
 Birthrights (Book One of the Revisions to the Truth Series)
Author: J. Kyle McNeal
Format: 
ARC paperback/ebook (courtesy of Elevate Publishing and NetGalley)
Date Published:
June 6, 2017
Pages:
552
Review:
(TBR)
Synopsis:
 To escape the burden of his family’s past, Whym accepts an apprenticeship with a master his parents fear and revile… Meanwhile, Quint, the son of a powerful religious leader, abandons his faith to join the fight against a corrupt council… Civil war looms, defeated foes plot revenge, and an ancient deity schemes to destroy them all. While navigating the shifting sands of truth, the two young men must distill what they believe, and decide on whose side they will stand in the coming conflict. (from Goodreads)


Libaire, Jardine - White Fur - COVER
Title:
 White Fur
Author: Jardine Libaire
Format: ARC paperback (courtesy of LibraryThing)
Date Published: May 30, 2017
Pages: 384
Review: (TBR)
Synopsis: A stunning star-crossed love story set against the glitz and grit of 1980s New York City… Jardine Libaire combines the electricity of Less Than Zero with the timeless intensity of Romeo and Juliet in this searing, gorgeously written novel that perfectly captures the ferocity of young love. (from Goodreads)

 

Chevalier, Tracy - New Boy - COVER
Title: 
New Boy
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Format: ebook (courtesy of NetGalley)
Date Published: May 11, 2017
Pages: 204
Review: (TBR)
Synopsis: From the New York Times bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring comes the fifth installment in the Hogarth Shakespeare series, a modern retelling of Othello set in a 1970s suburban schoolyard… Tracy Chevalier’s powerful drama of friends torn apart by jealousy, bullying and betrayal will leave you reeling. (from Goodreads)

 

Honeyman, Gail - Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine - COVER.jpg
Title: 
Eleanore Oliphant is Completely Fine
Author: Gail Honeyman
Format: ebook (courtesy of Penguin Random House First to Read)
Date Published: May 9, 2017
Pages: 327
Review: (TBR)
Synopsis: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine is the story of a quirky yet lonely woman whose social misunderstandings and deeply ingrained routines could be changed forever—if she can bear to confront the secrets she has avoided all her life. But if she does, she’ll learn that she, too, is capable of finding friendship—and even love—after all. (from Goodreads)

 

Klages, Ellen - Wicked Wonders - COVER
Title: 
Wicked Wonders
Author: Ellen Klages
Format: ebook (courtesy of NetGalley)
Date Published: May 16, 2017
Pages: 284
Review: (TBR)
Synopsis: The Scott O’Dell award-winning author of The Green Glass Sea returns with her second collection: a new decade of lyrical stories with vintage flair… Whether on a habitat on Mars or in a boardinghouse in London, discover Ellen Klages’ wicked, wondrous adventures full of brazenness, wit, empathy, and courage. (from Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

