Book Review

Victor Lavalle’s THE CHANGELING

A review of Victor Lavalle’s The Changeling, published on June 13, 2017 by Random House Publishing Group (Random House, Spiegel & Grau).

Apollo Kagwa is happy with his life: he is a book dealer for his business called Improbabilia, he loves his wife Emma, and he is determined to be a better father to his own son than the father that abandoned him as child. However, when baby Brian is six months old, Emma becomes convinced that “it’s not a baby,” and commits an act so atrocious that it is difficult for Apollo to recover. When approached by a mysterious stranger who can tell Apollo where to find Emma, he begins a journey to find her and his baby boy.

Book Review

Katherine Arden’s THE GIRL IN THE TOWER

A review of Katherine Arden’s The Girl in the Tower (The Winternight Trilogy, #2).

After her village shunned her and cast her out as a witch, Vasilisa Petrovna (Vasya) is left with only two options: go to a convent or get married. Being a headstrong, independent, and obstinate girl who fears being locked away, she instead defies convention and rides out with her horse, Solovey, disguised as a boy in search of adventure. It isn’t long until she finds trouble – or trouble finds her – and she finds herself in Moscow.

Book Review

Andy Weir’s ARTEMIS

A review of Andy Weir’s latest, Artemis, published on November 14, 2017 by Crown Publishing.

Artemis tells the story of Jasmine (Jazz) Bashara, a criminal (aka a smuggler) who lives on Artemis, the first base on Earth’s Moon. She does not make much money as a porter, so when the opportunity to make 1,000,000 slugs (aka a lot of money) arises, she jumps at the chance to commit the “perfect heist.” But there is no such thing as the “perfect heist,” and she soon finds herself deep in a conspiracy that she must find a way out of, or else face terrible consequences.

Book Review


A review of Sophie Chen Keller’s The Luster of Lost Things. Published on August 8, 2017 by PENGUIN GROUP (G.P. Putnam’s Sons). This book has been compared to both A Man Called Ove and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

Walter Lavender Jr. is a finder, using his gift to help people around the city who have lost important items, anything from dogs to bassoons, yet unable to use it to locate his own lost father. He spends most of his time in his mother’s sweets shop – The Lavenders – a place where desserts come to life, thanks to the magic of the Book. However, when the book is lost, he must go on a journey through New York City to find it. Along the way, he meets the lost people of the city who, like him, just want to be found and belong.

Book Review

Salman Rushdie’s THE GOLDEN HOUSE

A review of Salman Rushdie’s The Golden House. Published on September 5, 2017 by Random House Publishing Group (Random House).

The Golden House, among other things, is a commentary on the current political atmosphere as well as American life and culture in general, tackling issues from immigration to gender identity and beyond.

Book Review


A review of V.S. Alexander’s The Magdalen Girls. Published December 27, 2016 by Kensington Books.

V.S. Alexander’s novel The Magdalen Girls is set in 1962 Dublin, Ireland. The Sisters of the Holy Redemption, a convent of the Catholic Church, is a place for “fallen” women to have a chance for redemption from their sins through hard labor, reflection, and prayer. The lives of a Magdalen was difficult. Not only did they have to endure long hours working in the stifling laundries, but they had little chance of returning to the rest of society, and even if they did, their reputation would be ruined.